Skip to content
The National Council logo

Board of Directors of the National Council for Behavioral Health

National Council Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the National Council for Behavioral Health represents the membership and is committed to diversity, leadership, and promoting excellence in mental health and addictions treatment. The board is composed entirely of elected volunteers from the staff and community boards of National Council member organizations. Board members are elected by National Council member organizations in each of 10 regions covering the entire U.S.

Board Officers and Leadership

Timonium, MD
Jeff Richardson has served as the Executive Director of Mosaic Community Services (MCS) part of the Sheppard Pratt Health System, for twenty-three years and brings [...] Read More

First Vice Chair
Tim Swinfard is the president of Compass Health and chief executive officer of Pathways Community Health. The Compass Health network includes a psychiatric hospital, [...] Read More

Second-Vice Chair
Vic DiGravio has been President/CEO of ABH since July 1, 2007. Under his leadership, ABH has been a leader in addressing public policy and financing [...] Read More

Secretary-Treasure; Chair, Finance & Administration Committee
Victor Armstrong, MSW is Vice President, Behavioral Health with Carolinas HealthCare System based in Charlotte, NC and serves as Facility Executive of Behavioral Health- Charlotte [...] Read More

100% Association Representative, Association/State Executives Committee
Matt Brooks has an extensive career in public and governmental affairs in the State of Indiana, where he has represented various not-for-profit trade associations, managed [...] Read More

Chair, Association/State Executives Committee
Missouri Coalition for Community Behavioral Healthcare
Brent McGinty became the chief executive officer of the Missouri Coalition for Community Behavioral Healthcare (MO Coalition) in January 2013. In this role, he advances [...] Read More

Immediate Past Chair
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Susan Blue has been president and CEO of Community Services Group since 1987. CSG provides a full array of community based behavioral health and intellectual [...] Read More

Chair, Public Policy Committee
Sara Moscato Howe, MS, CHES, is Chief Executive Officer of the Illinois Association for Behavioral Health (IABH). Her responsibilities include state and federal policy [...] Read More


At-Large Directors

Denver, Colorado
Dr. Carl Clark’s early experience with his father’s bipolar disorder sparked a commitment to helping people with mental illness regain their lives, hopes and aspirations. [...] Read More

Mark Fontaine serves as the Executive Director of the Florida Behavioral Health Association (formed in 2015) and the Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association (since [...] Read More

Arthur Schut provides consultation, training, and education regarding substance use disorders, co-occurring mental health and addiction services, behavioral health organization management, policy development, and systems [...] Read More

Chair, Addictions
Constance Peters joint the National Council Board of Directors in 2014 and is serving as Chair of the Addictions Committee. As the immediate-past President [...] Read More


Regional Directors

Region I

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

Chair, Audit Committee
Rich Leclerc is President and CEO of Gateway Healthcare, a network of eleven nonprofit community behavioral health and human service organizations serving approximately 15,000 individuals [...] Read More

Region II

New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

John Kastan., Ph.D., is Chief Program Officer at The Jewish Board of Family and Children’s Services. Between June 2010 and August 2013, he was [...] Read More

Mental Health Association of Essex and Morris, Inc.
Robert N. Davison, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Montclair, NJ-based Mental Health Association of Essex and Morris, Inc., is an accomplished professional who has [...] Read More

Region III

District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

Doylestown, PA
Trained and licensed as a psychologist, came to Lenape Valley Foundation in 1981 and has served as its CEO since 1992. During his tenure, Lenape [...] Read More

Cornerstone Montgomery
Cari is a licensed social worker who has been working in community mental health for over 20 years. She started her career working on the [...] Read More

Region IV

Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee

Linda McKinnon has been the President and CEO of Central Florida Behavioral Health Network for the past 14 years. Central Florida Behavioral Health Network is [...] Read More

Henderson Behavioral Health
Dr. Steven Ronik is the Chief Executive Officer for Henderson Behavioral Health. Henderson is the oldest and largest non-profit behavioral healthcare system in South Florida. [...] Read More

Region V

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

Ravenswood, Chicago, IL , 60613
Mark Ishaug serves as the Chief Executive Officer of Thresholds, an innovative community-based provider of healthcare for persons with mental illnesses that is one of the oldest and [...] Read More

Edward Woods was first appointed to the Board of Directors for LifeWays Community Mental Health in 1990. Mr. Woods has served on the boards [...] Read More

Region VI

Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Chair, Membership Committee
Oklahoma City, OK
Randy Tate is the CEO of NorthCare, a 501(c) 3 operating as a public safety net for behavioral health services in Oklahoma County. The agency [...] Read More

Danette Castle serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the Texas Council of Community Centers. As an association, the Texas Council represents the thirty [...] Read More

Region VII

Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

High Plains Mental Health Center, Hays, KS
Walter Hill is the Mental Health Provider representative to the Kansas Governor’s Mental Health Planning Council. He was the Past President, Kansas Association of Community [...] Read More

Pat Coleman is President and CEO OF Behavioral Health Response, Inc. (BHR). BHR is a professionally staffed and accredited clinical contact center that provides expert [...] Read More

Region VIII

Arizona, Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

Casa de los Ninos; Tucson, AZ
Susie Huhn is the CEO of Casa de los Ninos a nationally accredited child welfare and behavioral health organization providing a comprehensive network of services [...] Read More

Region IX

California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada

Christine Stoner-Mertz has served as President and CEO of Lincoln Child Center since 2006. Chris has more than 20 years of experience working in child [...] Read More

Dr. Vitka Eisen is the CEO of HealthRIGHT 360, a Federally Qualified Health Center and one of the largest providers of behavioral health services to [...] Read More

Region X

Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

Kevin M. Campbell is the CEO of Greater Oregon Behavioral Health Inc. (GOBHI), a position he has held since 2001. GOBHI provides quality management, utilization [...] Read More

David Johnson has been the CEO of Navos Mental Health Solutions since 1999. Navos has been at the forefront of many service innovations, including being [...] Read More

Off-Board Appointees

Lincoln, NE
Topher Hansen started his career in the behavioral health field as a volunteer for the Drug Crisis Center in 1975. After a brief time [...] Read More

Audit Committee

Annual Report

Get the highlights from our year and what kind of impact we've made with and for our members including Mental Health First Aid, the SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, and grassroots advocacy.

Read More

©2018 National Council for Behavioral Health. All Rights Reserved.