National Council for Mental Wellbeing

Skip to content National Council for Mental Wellbeing
Find a Provider
National Council for Mental Wellbeing logo
Your source for the latest updates from Capitol Hill. We translate policy into practice so you can learn how policy trends will affect your work and how best to prepare.

Michael Petruzzelli

, National Council for Behavioral Health

HHS Updates Poverty Guidelines for Medicaid, CHIP Eligibility

February 5, 2015 | Medicaid | Comments
Share on LinkedIn

Every year, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) updates its poverty guidelines for eligibility for Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).  This week, HHS announced that for 2015, the poverty guideline for a family or household of four in the continental 48 states or the District of Columbia is $24,250. The poverty rates for Alaska, Hawaii and US Territories, can be seen here.

The 2015 guidelines reflect a 1.6 percent price increase in the Consumer Price Index between calendar years 2013 and 2014. Included with the poverty guidelines bulletin is the 2015 Dual Eligible Standards chart, which displays the new eligibility standards for the Medicare Savings Program categories. These eligibility standards went into effect on February 1, 2015.