Skip to content
The National Council logo

National Council Awards of Excellence


Join us for the 2018 Awards of Excellence on Tuesday, April 24, 2018 during NatCon18 in Washington, DC and help us celebrate the influential individuals and organizations working to strengthen behavioral health care and support our communities.

Purchase a table for premiere seating for your group of 10 people and earn recognition during the awards ceremony and in the NatCon18 Final Program as an awards supporter. Or, purchase individual seats for first-come, first-served seating.


The 2018 Awards of Excellence categories honor nominees for the following categories:

  • Champions of Excellence: Recognizes an organization or program that promotes professional development in the behavioral health field with respect to retention strategies, diversity, and training structure.​
  • Doc of the Year: Recognizes a psychiatrist or physician who has gone above and
    beyond the call of duty, empowering patients to define their own goals and providing
    the encouragement and support to help them achieve their dreams.
  • Excellence in Addictions Treatment: Recognizes an organization that has
    provided effective addictions education and prevention programs in the community
    or improved treatment outcomes for people with addictions disorders through
    innovative, science-based programs and services.
  • Excellence in Advocacy (Individual or Organizational): Honors an individual or
    organization that has demonstrated exemplary efforts and results over the last 12
    months advocating for legislative or regulatory policies that increase access to
    mental health and substance use services.
  • Excellence in Advocacy by an Elected Official: Honors a state or local elected
    official who has demonstrated exemplary efforts and results over the last 12 months
    promoting behavioral health policies that increase access to mental health and
    substance use services.
  • Excellence in Behavioral Health Care Management: Recognizes an individual, program
    or organization that has demonstrated effective and innovative programs currently in
    use to minimize risk and liability, improve access to mental health and addiction
    treatment services, nurture workforce skills or enhance the customer experience.
  • Excellence in Mental Health First Aid Community Impact: Recognizes an
    organization that has demonstrated commitment and made extensive and
    significant impact on the community through delivery of Mental Health First Aid USA
    (adult and/or youth) trainings.
  • Excellence in Technology: Recognizes an organization that uses new
    technologies — including mobile, web, social media and remote/virtual care delivery
    — to achieve operational efficiencies and improve access to care, treatment, support
    and health outcomes for persons with mental illnesses and addictions.
  • Excellence in Whole Person Care: Recognizes a health care organization that has
    achieved primary and behavioral health integration to address the whole health
    needs of the people it serves and/or has developed innovative ways to promote
    health and wellness.
  • Peer Specialist of the Year: Recognizes a person with a lived experience of mental
    illness who works in a health care organization and uses his or her strengths to help
    peers on their road to recovery from mental illness.
  • Visionary Leadership: Recognizes an individual (staff or volunteer) who has
    demonstrated outstanding leadership in the behavioral health care field, improving
    the lives of individuals with mental illnesses and addictions disorders and helping
    them live full lives in their communities.


6th Annual Scattergood Innovation Award

The National Council is also proud to partner with Scattergood Foundation for the 6th Annual Scattergood Innovation Award.

The Scattergood Innovation Award recognizes innovative programs, policies, products, and/or technologies which challenge how behavioral health is currently viewed, organized, and practiced. The winner of the Innovation Award will receive $25,000 to go toward their innovative program. Apply here.

Thank you to our supporters

Questions about this year’s awards? Email or call 866-362-0505.

©2018 National Council for Behavioral Health. All Rights Reserved.